Age-off strategies

I am new to CockroachDB and am considering moving a Postgres table over. The table in postgres has approx 1billion rows, the table is partitioned by “week” (using a timestamp column). The partitioning by week is to enable “faster” age-off of data (we’ll only keep N weeks of data, dropping a whole partition has been faster than say “DELETE FROM X WHERE created_at < some_time”.

Any suggestions for how to accomplish this in CockroachDB?

Thanks

(Alex Narayan) #2

As suggested on the Gitter one way to do this without subscribing to Cockroach and obtaining an Enterprise license (which comes with some super nice perks) is to employ a trigger. The trigger could be written / applied to the table you want to keep current and then for every row added / updated etc., this trigger would fire and determine whether or not to allow the row to be added to the main table or have it added to an “old” table. The one caveat with this is that generally triggers come with large performance overhead and can make set based operations RBAR ones instead.

(Matt Jibson) #3

Cockroach doesn’t have an analogous way to do fast deletes of part of a table. The way to get the best performance for large deletes is to make sure that all indexes have a key prefix on whatever thing you are deleting on (created_at in this case), to prevent any full index scans during the delete.

Cockroach doesn’t have support for triggers.

Such as: CREATE INDEX ON tbl (created_at)? what if I want to delete based on two columns, should I have an index with both columns? CREATE INDEX ON tbl (created_at, name);

(Matt Jibson) #5