Cockroach db multi region expose

Hello,

I have set up a cockroach DB multi-region database on GCP Kubernetes. One is in Asia and the other is in the US region. Now I want to expose the database to the public because my front end apps are running on AWS. My question is can I expose the database to the global load balancer of GCP?

If I can’t expose it to the GCP global load balancer and use regional TCP load balancer then How my app will forward traffic to the nearest database location? Because I have to expose 2 TCP load balancer in each region.

Kindly share the best practice to access a multi-region database publically using a single IP address or any other way to access the database.

Hello, Cockroach db support team,

I am new to cockroach DB and exploring some of your new databases features and apply them in our production services. You should help us to explore more of your products. We want to use cockroach in our organization. I think i am not getting good support from your forum.

If we implemented this service successfully in our products then we are planning to buy enterprise features also.

Hi shivraj,

Sorry it took so long to get back to you. Generally it’s not a great idea to expose the single Cockroach cluster behind a single load balancer. In order to best achieve optimal latency with crdb you’ll want to configure application servers to communicate with cockroach nodes which are physically proximate. This generally means that the best practice is to deploy regional TCP load balancers which each have their own IP. If I understand correctly, I believe this is what you say you’ve done. Then in AWS you should configure your application servers to use the IP address of the closer cockroach region.

In front of your application servers it then makes sense to use a global layer 7 load balancer.