CockroachDB and Kubernetes Clustering Help/Info required

Hi,

Firstly, complete noob here. I’ve been using K8’s a total of about 20 hours :smile:

I’m looking at deploying CockroachDB across two sites for work (datacenter and an additional site in one of our offices) and have been following this article and was eventually able to stand up a cluster with 3 pods, I’m not sure if it needs updating as there were a few errors getting the example.yaml file to work.

Reading through the documentation for hosting across multiple clusters I see tutorials for Google and Amazon web services.

Question 1: Do we NEED to use one of those or is it possible to host it ourselves without those? We’re planning to use HA Proxy between the two sites if that matters.

Question 2: The article I followed was for a local cluster, If I work on this cluster for now is it easy enough for me to add a second cluster, or make it “not local”? Or am I better off starting with both? I appreciate part of that is down to our networking, which we can work around. I’m just curious as to how the process would work.

Question 3: Acessing the web console. How can I access this remotely?

The current set up is an Ubuntu VM which can only be accessed from our network. How can I set CockroachDB to allow connections to the web console from any IP or even a handful of IP addresses on the same network? I’m don’t want to be able to access the console over the internet/externally.
I’m not sure where to specify this in my yaml file.

Thanks,

Phil

Hi Phil,

I’m a Product Manager at Cockroach Labs.

Question 1: Do we NEED to use one of those or is it possible to host it ourselves without those? We’re planning to use HA Proxy between the two sites if that matters.

You do not need to use one of those. CockroachDB and Kubernetes are cloud-agnostic and can work on baremetal. It is possible to host it yourself and/or use other cloud providers, such as Azure.