cockroachDB feature request: GUI for RDBMS

hello - total newbie here. i have not installed cockroach-db yet, but quickly fell in love with it as soon as i saw the words “FOREIGN KEY”.

my question: is there a webpage interface into the data like rethinkDB and firebase has? both of these turn your data into a giant JSON tree that can be edited in the webpage interface.

maybe my very first newbie question was just too poorly researched before i asked, and i apologize for that.

1. UI interface: i found this:
    https://www.cockroachlabs.com/docs/start-a-local-cluster.html
    step four: “open an admin ui”

2. data editing
    it appears that any posgresql option will work. i have been using mysql-workbench for years, so i will investigate a suitable replacement. however, i still look forward to using a possible website data editor like rethinkdb and firebase offers.

@edwardsmarkf

Could you share a little more about your use case for a web-based data editor - amount of data you’re storing/using, what you need to do with it, etc.? It’s not something that’s currently on our roadmap, but we’re certainly open to exploring it.

And if you pick a good mysql-workbench alternative, would love to hear how it works for you.

hmmm i am getting the impression that mariadb(mysql) gui tools are more popular than anything available for PostgreSQL.

however, just the cockroachdb “cool-factor” alone seems to compensate for not using mysql-workbench anymore, unless somebody knows of a good drop-in replacement for mysql-workbench. i might ask this on stack-overflow (and risk being down-voted)

Hey, @edwardsmarkf! –– Would something like Postico suffice for what you’re looking for? Only difference between what you’d use for Postgres vs. using Cockroach is using port 26257

Postico - probably would work ! i have never looked at it but defintely will once i have cockroachDB installed after we are done with the feasibility study (and cockroachDB wins :wink: