Column Family: MyRocks (MariaDB) vs. CockroachDB

Hi all
I’m completely new to CockroachDB (read docs today for the first time) and MariaDB+MyRocks (trying to use it since a couple of weeks).
I read CockroachDB’s doc about Column Families (“CF”) here but I’m not sure if what I understood is correct.

Question
On one hand, in the case of MyRocks/MariaDB, what I understood is that…

1. …a primary index always stores the data of all table columns (doesn’t matter if they’re part of the PK or not - mentioned here) => therefore, any DML will always end up touching/modifying that primary index involving all data stored in all the table’s columns, right?
    By doing a parallel with the Oracle DB, the MyRocks/MariaDB primary index seems similar to an “Index Organized Table”?
  2. …a CF can be defined only per index (mentioned here).

On the other hand, in the case of CockroachDB, I understand from what is written in the doc that the CF of the primary index does not (have to) include all non-primary-index-columns (only the ones explicitly mentioned). Am I wrong?

Usecase
I have a table that stores temporary data.
The table has multiple columns:
the first col uniquely identifies a specific URL, the other cols store the result of the work that is done at each processing step.
Separate programs (that might or might not run concurrently) are responsible to process data for their individual step.
Once all steps for a URL/document have been performed the row is deleted.
Having separate cols for each processing step simplify debugging if anything goes wrong (“aha - data looked like this during processing step #1, then it looked like that during procstep #2, then it became like that during procstep #3”).

The table definition in my MariaDB/MyRocks currently basically looks like this:

create table temp_data_tbl
(
url varbinary(1024) not null
,step1 mediumblob not null
,step2 mediumblob default null
,step3 mediumblob default null
,PRIMARY KEY (url)
)
ENGINE=RocksDB