Dynamic Timestamp Allocation

Hi, how are you?

I am studying the cockroachdb in depth and reading a document "Dynamic Timestamp Allocation for Reducing Transaction Aborts “in” file: /// C: / Users / 55219 / Downloads / dynamicTimestampOrdering-IEEECloud-2018% 20 (1) .pdf "

I was very interested in whether the cockroachdb development team implemented DYNAMIC TIMESTAMP or not? If development equip haven’t implemented what are the factors that drive this implementation? From my experience I know that a laboratory study does not reflect the same result in the real world field. If cockroachdb does not use DYNAMIC TIMESTAMP what does it do to reduce Transaction Aborts?

thanks

We’re good, thanks!

CRDB does not implement the techniques described in that paper. However, we do achieve (at least to some degree) the objectives of that work, and the timestamps of our transactions are somewhat dynamic. Throughout its lifetime, a transaction maintains a read timestamp and a write timestamp. The read ts is the ts at which the transaction reads data, the write ts is the timestamp at which it writes. If the txn ultimately commits, it commits at the write timestamp - meaning that the MVCC records it persists are marked with the write timestamp, and so that is the timestamp that dictates the transaction’s serial ordering with respect to other transactions. The SERIALIZABLE transaction isolation (which CRDB implements) effectively dictates that transactions only commit if their read timestamp is equal to its write timestamp. So, although we allow the two timestamps to temporarily diverge, a txn is only allowed to commit if we can collapse them back together. Here’s how it works: