Expose cockroach multi region database to public

Hello,

I am new to cockroach db. I just wanted to know some of the information about cockroach db multi cluster deployment.

I have deployed some of my web applications in GKE. I have used Kubernetes federation for app latency purpose. one cluster is deployed in Europe and other is deployed in asia region. and my application works fine.

I want cockroach db setup in same region. i have created 2 clusters in the Europe and Asia region and deployed cockroach db into that.

Now my question starts from here. How can i connect cockroach db to my application using IP. how can i expose cockroach db to access in my applications. I don’t want port forwarding because my application are deployed in different clusters.

i have .env file in my web app. content is below.

DB_IP : cockroach db ip [`how can i expose it ?`]
DB_PASSWORD : 
DB_USER : 
DB_PORT : 

I will be waiting for the positive reply on that. Thank you !

Hey @shivraj

Please feel free to review the examples of different apps in our documentation here. These are guides that demonstrate how to create a simple app in different languages, and make those apps work with CockroachDB. This should give you a firm base for how to configure your web app to utilize CockroachDB.

Let me know if there are any other questions.

Cheers,
Ricardo

2 Likes

@rickrock, Yes, I have check that documentation, But my concern is How can i expose the ip while db running on multi region cluster.

in the documentation they put the localhost as db host. But i need to connect database from different cluster and application. How can i create a public ip to connect db from different clusters. As i can’t use localhost.

I have already running single region cockroach cluster on kubernetes, and i have expose the service to the load balancer and i am using that LB ip from my application.

postgresql://my-user:mypassword@DB-ip:26257/DB-name?sslmode=require