Finding CA key on kubernetes cluster

Hello,

I am new to both kubernetes and cockroachDB and im trying to setup a secure installation of cockroachdb. I am running in to the following issue though:

On the documentation for cockroach DB it says I need to run the following command to create certificates for a new user:

cockroach cert create-client maxroach --certs-dir=certs --ca-key=my-safe-directory/ca.key

But after running a pod for the secure client, I cant find the ca.key anywhere. I have used helm to install cockroach on EKS and set TLS to enabled. How am I suppose to create certificates for a new user on kubernetes?

When using Helm, the ca used by cockroachdb is the Kubernetes cluster CA.

So to create a new cert, you need to have Kubernetes sign it. The “Normal User” part of https://kubernetes.io/docs/reference/access-authn-authz/certificate-signing-requests/ is helpful here and you can go through that to get a signed cert. After extracting the signed cert and base64 decoding it, you can put it in a file named client.user.crt. Copy the Kubernetes cluster ca cert from your kube config file, base 64 decode it, and save it as ca.crt.

Then you can try running cockroachdb sql --host <external IP of service> --certs-dir=<directory_with_ca.crt_and_client.user.crt>

But it will fail because the cert used is only valid for 127.0.0.1 and not for the external LB IP of the service for Cockroachdb:

$ cockroach sql --certs-dir . --user maxroach --host <service_ip>
#
# Welcome to the CockroachDB SQL shell.
# All statements must be terminated by a semicolon.
# To exit, type: \q.
#
ERROR: x509: certificate is valid for 127.0.0.1, not 172.16.100.3
Failed running "sql"