How CockroachDB replica and partition data?

Hi,
I am studying how to use CockroachDB.
I have some questions about how CockroachDB replicate and partition data.

For example, when I start a 3-node cluster and I load datum created by benchmark like TPCC.
Then when and how CockroachDB partition this datum to 3 nodes?
Will CockroachDB replicate datum in one node to the others at once?
I am also reading documents and source code to figure them out.

Thanks for your help!

(Raphael 'kena' Poss) #2

Hello @lemon
Thank you for your interest in CockroachDB! Your question sounds like a homework assignment :slight_smile:

CockroachDB replicates data when the data is created. The data is replicated to all nodes in the replication group, however the write is acknowledged to the client as soon as a majority (quorum) of nodes has stored a replica.

Does this answer your question? Feel free to ask more.

Thanks a lot!
So that means when I insert a value into node1, the database will create replications on node2 and node3 as soon as I finish the insertion on node1, right?

I am also wondering that when I load datum to this 3-node cluster by command like
_workload init tpcc --warehouses=1000 “postgres://root@?sslmode=disable”
_
will datum be stored just on node1 or be partitioned to 3 nodes equally?

(Raphael 'kena' Poss) #4

You are not using the words correctly. There is no such thing as “create replications” and “be partitioned to 3 nodes”. Also your usage of the word “datum” is suspicious.
You must really work on your vocabulary – all these words/terms matter!

Definitions:

• “replica” - synonym “one copy of the data”
    for example: “When you insert a value into node 1, the database will create a replica on node 2 and node 3”
  • “database”, definition 1 - a container for relational tables and views
    for example: “The TPCC benchmark uses one database with 6 tables.”
  • “dataset” - a collection of databases and their contents, to support a given application