How to start developing?

(Steven) #1

Hello I recently graduated from college as a computer science major. I would really like to help and contribute to this project. I have checked out the github and the contribute.md, downloaded all the dependencies, cloned the repo with go, built everything, signed the agreement, and read the documentation. Unfortunately I have never worked on an opensource project before though, and I am lost on what to do next. Can someone else who started from a similar position as mine help lead me in the right direction so I can be of use please? Any documentation or reading that would help in the development of this project or any advice would be welcome. I would really like to be a productive member of this team.

(Nikhil Benesch) #2

Hi @stevencnix,

First of all, welcome! Really excited to have you contribute.

The first step is to find an issue you want to tackle. Issues tagged with help wanted are good candidates, though not everything we want help with is tagged as “help wanted.” Find something that interests you and doesn’t look too challenging. On your first PR, just navigating our codebase and build system can be challenging enough.

If you’re having trouble finding a good first issue, come join our Gitter chat room during business hours (roughly 10am-6pm EST) and one of us can point you in the right direction!

We also have a guide to submitting your first PR to CockroachDB that you’ll probably find helpful! I’m afraid that won’t help you find a starter project, though; that guide is written for new engineering hires at Cockroach Labs who have an assigned starter project.

(Steven) #3

I appreciate the quick reply. I’ll read the guide you sent me and be sure to pop into the Gitter chat room tomorrow. Thank you very much.

(Nikhil Benesch) #4

DROP USER is missing might be a good first project, for example! The implementation should be the inverse of the already-existing CREATE USER.