Multi-active Availability

Hi there, I’m new to crdb, so I might have overlooked something. Feel free to point me to docs etc.

My question is about multi-active availability, which I understand to mean that all nodes are available for reads and writes at all times. So does that mean that in a distributed application every app node that wants to read/write data can round-robin through the crdb nodes and that will save me a set of load balancers in front of the crdb nodes?

Yes, I’ll need health checks to take crdb nodes out of and back into the rotation. But other than that, what particular advantage do I gain by load balancing the crdb nodes seperately? Here I am assuming that the client-facing app nodes will have to be load balanced anyway.

Ulrich

@ulim, that’s right: you can direct your reads/writes to any node in the cluster. You’ll pay a latency cost, of course, for accessing nodes in distant data centers. See Multi-Datacenter Fast Read Setup for some additional considerations.

Anyway, I assume you’re asking because our deployment documentation suggests using a separate load balancer? Most existing database drivers—at least the ones we’ve seen—don’t support sending requests round-robin to multiple hosts. That, in turn, means that most app frameworks (like Rails) want a single database URL. Putting a load balancer out front of your Cockroach cluster is the shortest path to balancing traffic across your cluster, since you can just specify the address of the load balancer in your existing app.