Need pgx help to get it right from the start.

Hi. I’m new to CockroachDB and want to use golang with pgx driver to create an API server. In golang I use echo framework to create my web service.

The tool creates new tasks for the incomming requests. I wonder if I have to create a new DB connection in every task or if all tasks can re-use an existing connection?

I found the connection pooling feature, but it reads like I have to name the size of the pool? It is not well documented at all… But I dont know the needed size as I don’t know how many requests are comming in (echo is creating new tasks automatically). So what happens if the pool is 100 and the echo framework starts the 101st thread?

Any advise about how to do that right would be great! Maybe some golang example on how to use connection pools with pgx in general?

Hi @Volker.Schmid!

The tool creates new tasks for the incomming requests. I wonder if I have to create a new DB connection in every task or if all tasks can re-use an existing connection?

Creating a new connection for each task probably would add too much overhead. You should use a connection pool. pgx has a companion library called pgxpool that you should be able to use easily.

I found the connection pooling feature, but it reads like I have to name the size of the pool? It is not well documented at all…

The docs for pgxpool config are here: pgxpool · pkg.go.dev . Note that this library is not owned by Cockroach Labs, so questions about it should to the pgx issue tracker.

But I dont know the needed size as I don’t know how many requests are comming in (echo is creating new tasks automatically).

Your pool size should not really be related to the number of incoming requests. What matters more is the ability of the underlying system to parallelize the requests. For CockroachDB, see these docs for a pool size recommendation. If possible, you should run experiments to find the best size for your workload, using that as a starting point.