Transaction isolation levels explaination

Newbie here, probably a very navie question I am asking.

I am trying to understand transaction isolation levels: SERIALIZABLE vs SNAPSHOT
I have also read the blog page, but still doesn’t quite get it.

Can anyone kindly explain isolation levels in a simple way (targeting end users who do not necessarily have the knowledge to comprehend the inner working) with examples?

I have attempted the following, with a cockroachdb docker instance

create table test (i int);
insert into test values (1), (2);

In terminal 1, I issued:

begin;
insert into test values (3); -- enter twice without committing

I got

INSERT 1 
root@26257/test OPEN>_

In terminal 2, I issued

insert into test values (4);

As expected, the statement ran successfully with a response: INSERT 1
In terminal 2 again, I issued

select * from test;

The terminal 2 got stuck, nothing happened, for a long time…
After 15 mins of :tea: time, back to terminal 1, I issued

commit;

Terminal 2 became responsive again.

Is this the expected behaviour of the default transaction isolation level SERIALIZABLE. I am also confused with the term LOCKLESS mentioned in the blog. It appears to me that if the client (terminal 1) issues a transaction statement begin without committing, the whole table test gets locked for select by the other client (terminal 2). This can be a problem if a client is misconfigured, issues a begin without commit, or the client takes a long time to commit. In these scenario, other clients need to wait for a long time.

It would be great if someone can help explaining this, with examples possibly, and solutions to mitigate :turtle: clients.

To better understand the transaction isolation levels, have a look at this video: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=-7VjPVmw4vM&t=16m23s

The marble example is a good illustration of what serialisable offers over snapshot.