Weird benchmarks

Hi all,

I’ve been interested to cockroach for a while and I started playing with it recently.
I am now trying to see how it compares to my other SQL DBs for my usual use cases.

I started a github repo to compare insert, update, select limit1 and select by pk.

Here it is:

It is easily reproducible by simply launching the ./launch_all.sh in the subfolder:
https://github.com/vincentserpoul/playwithsql/tree/master/status/islatest
all you need is docker and go.

What am I doing wrong?

What’s wrong? Did you observe an error message or unexpected results? If so can you detail what you saw?

We can see you have a join here: https://github.com/vincentserpoul/playwithsql/blob/6f62aec3fec57f22de0f1a721ab890fac4033736/status/islatest/entityone.go#L164

Despite the fact our joins are not (yet) optimized this query is not too far from reasonable. A minor possible optimization is this:

SELECT
        FROM (SELECT e.entityone_id, e.time_created FROM entityone AS e) AS e
        INNER JOIN (SELECT es.entityone_id AS status_entityone_id, es.action_id, es.status_id, es.time_created  FROM entityone_status AS es WHERE es.is_latest = 1) AS es ON es.entityone_id = e.entityone_id
        WHERE 0 = 0

Mind that you may need the next beta to see my proposed tweak above make your query run faster.

Hi knz,

Sorry, I should have given more precise details instead of asking you to look into the repo.

I’m using a containerized cockroachdb on coreos, 8 cores, 16GB ram and SSD.

Here is the schema used:

CREATE TABLE IF NOT EXISTS entityone ( entityone_id BIGSERIAL NOT NULL, time_created DATE NOT NULL DEFAULT CURRENT_DATE, PRIMARY KEY (entityone_id) )